15
Dec
07

In the Flesh

I don’t really know how to start this article.

I mean, a bike comes out, so what? You eventually make it into the showrooms to check it out, or you see one you’re stoked about blow past you on the interstate, or that one guy at your bike night gets one. You see it, eventually. I cannot remember a time when such a big deal was made about a bike coming out, at least one that wasn’t Italian.

dsc00360.jpg

Its been on my calendar for a month, this date, December 14th, the night the 848 officially arrives in selected dealerships. I had the day off, and nerded out playing Bioshock. The game is awesome, actually, but that’s material for some other guys blog. The point though is the game became an excuse not to leave. I was putting off going to see the bike, the one I have written so much about, the one I was making a big deal about. What if it disappointed me? 

So I trucked out, down to my neighborhood Ducati dealer (literally- they’re right down the street), the Ducati Superstore of Phoenix. It was quite the to do. They did a great job, with the spotlights and cookies and cream puffs. Bocelli was piped in. Some beautiful girl made me an espresso. And amongst all this, two 848s sat facing each other, as undisappointing as possible. That’s definitely not a word…

The bikes were something, in person, in front of me. Not life changing, by any means. Bocelli himself could have been there bellowing, with rays of heaven illuminating the bikes, and it wouldn’t have made that big of a difference. But sweet they were. Stockier than their pictures paint, more stout. The 848 looks strong when it sits and front of you, but toy-like, especially the white one. As a kid, something like it would have been on my Christmas list. I suppose that’s why I want one so much now.

    dsc00358.jpg                  dsc00357.jpg

I will say this: the white one, though bad ass, pales in comparison to the red. The red frame, the pop of the matte black belly pan, the black wheels and accents… it’s too much for any bike, let alone its brethren. Too all I’ve told about getting the white one, I retract. I’ll have the Ducati 848, in red please.   

                 dsc00356.jpg 

Something else, while I’m feeling honest. Its hard not to turn your head in a Ducati showroom. I like blondes, right. If I’m at the beach and see blonde hair, I’m looking, even if she’s haggard. Its the same at a Ducati dealership, with red everywhere, even the Multistrada looks good. Rubbernecking is allowed. But I saw a bike that I cannot stop thinking about, for its form, its function, what the bike’s all about.The Hypermotard beckons me with the equivalent of bedroom eyes. I want it, and may cheat. 

Versus (Part 3): 848 vs. Hypermotard, then..?


13 Responses to “In the Flesh”


  1. 1 Shaun
    December 16, 2007 at 5:29 am

    The motard is different state of mind. You are on a bike. You go anywhere, bounce around, love dirt and pavement alike. The 848 (or any ducati racer for that matter), you are IN the bike. Its much more of a melding into this really fast human-machine thing with a singular purpose. I understand, not everyone wants that. Maybe the semi-hooligan do-it-all bike is your type of thing, and there’s nothing wrong with that.

    I personally love the dedication of the 848. It rolls on pavement, it leans, transitions and performs (and looks damn sexy). Thats what its for, thats what it does, and it does it well, if Ducati’s history continues. I’m not ragging on the hypermotard by any means, its a great bike I’m sure, but its purpose is decidedly different. I’m beating a dead horse we all know and love, but the question remains…how do you plan on comparing the apples and oranges (albeit white ones)? I guess if I was more patient, I’d find out….

  2. 2 Shaun
    December 16, 2007 at 5:39 am

    And one last thing…spot on for the first look at the bike (except the red part). I definitely expected a ticker tape parade and search lights and champagne and shit (no..really. we had no hot baristas or cream puffs), but maybe even more realistically people at the dealership, but there were none. Just a couple sales guys and one other guy stopping by to check it out that looked like he was probably a doctor, and may possibly have asked if it comes in automatic. Impressive bike none the less. Damn fuckin impressive. And also the decided end of my near-future financial planning….

  3. 3 T.J.
    December 17, 2007 at 8:10 am

    How do we compare apples and oranges? The two bikes have about as much in common. My heart is with the 848, but what can I say Shaun? My eyes wandered, I started thinking dirty hooliganesque thoughts.

    There was quite a turn out at my local dealership. Loads of people rode in, the staff looked professional, the store looked great. I even got a free T-shirt. It was a celebration, which is exactly what Ducati was trying to make of it. It was fun. Even without it, the bike still would have looked great. Jeez, several bikes looked great that night. Apples, oranges, whatever… I’ll be in the poorhouse with you.

  4. 4 Shaun
    December 18, 2007 at 11:41 pm

    My local dealer did nothing wrong..quite the contrary. Had a nice display and one with the bodywork pulled off, etc. Impressive stuff. I just guess it’s hard to get people into a motorcycle dealership the first sunny day after a week solid of snow (at the beginning on winter in Colorado no less).

    I’m not saying the 848 is the only bike. I sat on a motard….and liked it. A lot. When a 999R is sitting there, its really easy to just stare at it, devoid of thought, and be happy to do it (which I did until brought back to reality by the 08 Superbike brochure being handed to me). I just want to see it stacked against a CBR600RR, an R6, and most of all, an Aprilia RSV. Now that’d be a fight, mainly for Aprilia’s pride.

    You could always take on the job of what you’ve said you’d like to have, buy a nice cardboard box to sleep in, and get a Hypermotard too, and do the comparison yourself…

  5. 5 T.J.
    December 20, 2007 at 9:26 am

    I could sleep in a cardboard box…

    The 848 versus an Aprilia RSV. The would be something. The 848 versus an SV 1000 would be sweet. Versus an MV Agusta F4 750, that’s be tight. I can’t wait to read the comparos.

    Do you have a deposit down, or are you seriously considering?

  6. 6 Shaun
    December 20, 2007 at 3:49 pm

    I’m sold, but there a couple things that gotta happen first. I want to test one out (which they will let me do as soon as we get a warm week), and I wanna get settled into my new job just a little longer. Having said that, deposit will go down sometime in January. A key for that bike *will* be in my pocket (but mostly in the bike) by the end of April.

    I like how you don’t even have to fire it up. Just turn the key, and already stuff’s going on deep in the bowels of the desmo…

  7. 7 T.J.
    December 21, 2007 at 10:42 am

    The goal is set for April, eh? Good man.

    I imagine they’ll be more readily available at that point. Locally if you’re lucky, but you can always have it shipped. To uncrate your own 848… that would be sweet.

    Ducati should do what more of the high end car manufacturers have began doing (though BMW has done it for years)- a European delivery experience. You buy it, spend a few weeks braking it in through the hills of northern Italy, wrap it up with some performance training at Mugello. All import fees and customs bullshit taken care of. Course you would have to wait a month while your bike was shipped. Still…

  8. 8 Shaun
    December 23, 2007 at 7:33 am

    I agree fully…however. The experience of the purchase is one thing. The experience of the result of the purchase is what I’m interested in, soooo I’ll make due. It’s still too bad it is still such a twenty minute [4 hour] pickup, walk away and good luck to ya type of thing. Regardless: Results. My buddy’s effort (probably failed) to restrain contempt and jealousy will be gratification enough in terms of the purchasing process. Not the glam and glitz, but enough for me..for now…

  9. 9 Shaun
    January 5, 2008 at 12:06 am

    So the day was set for saturday, but I found myself irresistably close to Erico Motorsports, so I stopped by. I figured the roads wouldnt improve, so I packed my gear prior just in caseeee I happed to have the time to stop by.

    They let me ride it for about half an hour, by myself. To even get it out of the front lot area, it had to go over some snow, and a nice big pool of snowmelt, which I graciously let my guy down there do for me. I was nervous enough that I got on, clicked it into gear, and it immediately cut out as I had left the sidestand down. We shared a nervous laugh. I’d just signed a waver saying I scratch it, its mine, and he’d just let me throw a leg over his $13,000 machine.

    The roads were dirty, wet, and more or less crap. I’ve never had my mind on throttle control like I did for those 30 minutes, but when you twist it, the bike twists back. I’d never been on a twin before, but from 0 through whatever RPM you have, it will move. No constant increase in acceleration as you get higher in the powerband…it barks and throttles you ahead all around.

    I also found the riding position suprisingly comfortable. I got on it inside the dealer, and it felt a little awkward..like the pegs were too high, and it’d never be streetable in a daily (all day daily) sense. After the first few turns and straits down Denver city streets however, I felt right at home. Much narrower (and thats still an understatement) and easier to grip and flick with the knees than I’m used to on my Bandit.

    Except for the sand, water, snow, ice, downtown streets, and unaware drivers, it was an incredible experience. It’s everything I wanted and more. I had a shitty grin on my face through work and all night because of it. It felt like I was 7 again, and on those go carts they have at disneyland in that confined track, and sounded strikingly similar. It abided by my every wish, and stayed right where I wanted it to be, and also like the go carts, I noticed that the seat did get fairly warm. Just another part of the experience right?

    I’ve been waiting for what happened today since I learned they made things that have two wheels and engines, and I was not disappointed. So consumates my relationship with my new girlfriend, best friend, baby, teacher…the list goes on…

  10. 10 T.J.
    January 6, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    Very cool… you’re the first person I “know” who has actually ridden it. I’m a bit envious.

    Listen, I’d like to take the text of your comment and edit it into an actual post, if you don’t mind. Better yet, to give you credit, I could set you up as a contributor to the site if you like. You could take that comment, broaden it a little, and post it.

    Let me know if you’re interested.

  11. 11 Shaun
    January 11, 2008 at 4:30 pm

    Shoot me over an email so I can send it to you direct.

  12. October 17, 2014 at 12:09 am

    Good web site you have got here.. It’s hard to find high quality writing like yours nowadays.
    I really appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!


Leave a comment